Rugby

If you get a scholarship in rugby and go live your American dream, you can expect some differences with the French system. First, training schedules will be established by the coaches in accordance with the NCAA training rules. A rugby player should expect to practice at least 5 days a week, from 3 to 5 hours a day, knowing that a minimum rest day is mandatory. This higher level of training received as part of university practice in the USA makes it easier for athletes to achieve higher levels of physical fitness and performance than they are able to achieve in France. American universities offer athletes support from coaches and physiotherapists as well as the equipment necessary for the practice of high level sport (physiotherapy rooms, cold baths, electrostimulation devices, pressotherapy boots,...)

Schedule : Generally speaking, one semester will be dedicated to rubgy 15s and the other to rugby 7s.

Example of a typical day

Morning

5:45am -7am : Training

7am-8am : Breakfast

8am-9:30am : Work out

9:30am-10am : Check-up physio/stretching

10h-12h : Classes

Afternoon

12am-1pm : Lunch time

1pm-3pm : Classes

1pm-3:30pm : Check-up physio and stretching

3pm-6pm : Training

6pm-8pm : Free time/Diner

Video credits: Mountathletics Youtube Channel

The conditions for obtaining a scholarship

To be a high school graduate (all sectors)

To pass the TOEFL (English test) and other admission tests (SAT, GRE, GMAT)

To have a good academic level

To have a national level of performance

To be motivated and not be afraid to go out of your comfort zone

Testimonies

Titre 1

Julie Crochet - fullback (rugby)

An extraordinary experience, whether on the sporting or academic side. For sport, we find this professional support in very few, if any, clubs in France. Here, athletes do not play amateur sports like you can find in clubs in France. In addition, we really feel the sense of belonging to a team, and the pride we can have in wearing a logo, a team name, and representing the university. USA-Project's support is always top quality, before/during and after the start. Always there to reassure me even in times of admission stress. All the steps to follow are very detailed, so it's easy to find your way around. A single contact person throughout the process, which facilitates the communication.

USA-Project facilitates access to the best American universities for ambitious sports students. The company was founded by Martin Casse, a member of the French track and field team and a graduate of the University of Texas Rio Grande Valley.

Find us on social networks :

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - Cercle blanc

Copyright All Rights Reserved © 2017 USA-Project

Rugby

Si vous obtenez une bourse d'études en rugby et partez vivre votre rêve américain, vous devrez vous attendre à quelques différences avec le système français. Tout d'abord, les horaires d'entraînement seront établis par les coachs conformément aux règlements d'entraînement de la NCAA. Un joueur de rugby doit s'attendre à pratiquer au moins 5 jours par semaine, de 3 à 5 heures par jour, tout en sachant qu'un jour de repos minimum est obligatoire. Ce niveau plus élevé d'entraînement reçu dans le cadre d'une pratique universitaire aux USA permet aux athlètes d'atteindre plus facilement des niveaux de condition physique et de performance supérieurs à ceux qu'ils ont la capacité d'atteindre en France. Les universités américaines offrent aux sportifs un accompagnement des coachs et des kinésithérapeutes ainsi que le matériel nécessaire à la pratique d'un sport de haut niveau (salles de kinés, bains froids, appareils d'électrostimulation, bottes de pressothérapie,...)

Calendrier :  De manière générale, un semestre sera dédié au rubgy à 15 et l'autre au rugby à 7.

Exemple de journée type

Matin

5h45 -7h : Entraînement

7h-8h : Petit déjeuner 

8h-9h30 : Musculation

9h30-10h : Check-up kiné et étirements

10h-12h : Cours

Après-Midi

12h-13h : Pause déjeuner

13h-15h : Cours

15h-15h30 : Check-up kiné et étirements

15h-18h : Entraînement

18h-20h : Temps libre/dîner

Crédits vidéo : Mountathletics Youtube Channel

Les conditions d'obtention d'une bourse

Etre bachelier (toutes filières acceptées)

Passer le TOEFL (test d'anglais) et autre test d'admission (SAT, GRE, GMAT)

Avoir un bon niveau scolaire

Avoir un niveau de performance national

Etre motivé et ne pas avoir peur de sortir de sa zone de confort

Témoignages

Titre 1

Julie Crochet - arrière (rugby)

Une expérience hors-normes, que ce soit côté sportif ou côté scolaire. Pour le sport, on retrouve cet encadrement professionnel dans très peu voire, dans aucun club en France. Ici, les sportifs ne font pas du sport loisir comme on peut retrouver dans des clubs en France. De plus, on ressent vraiment le sentiment d’appartenance à une équipe, et la fierté que nous pouvons avoir de porter un logo, un nom d’équipe, et de représenter l’université. Un accompagnement toujours au top, avant/pendant/après le départ. Toujours là pour rassurer même dans les moments de stress d’admission. Toutes les démarches à suivre sont très détaillées, c’est donc simple de s’y retrouver. Un seul interlocuteur tout au long de nos démarches, ce qui facilite l’échange.

USA-Project permet aux étudiant-sportifs ambitieux d'accéder aux meilleures universités américaines. La société a été créée par Martin Casse, membre de l'équipe de France d'athlétisme et diplômé de l'université de Texas Rio Grande Valley (NCAA D1)

Retrouvez-nous sur les réseaux sociaux :

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - Cercle blanc

Copyright All Rights Reserved © 2017 USA-Project